Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Award Winning Children's Books

As a child, I remember walking through the library and looking for books based on two things: the picture(s) on the cover and the medal announcing that it was a "cool" book. I never actually knew what the medal was for, but anything in life that has a medal has to be special.
Now that I'm older, I decided it was time that I researched the history and meaning of these awards. I was surprised at what I found:

The Caldecott Medal

This medal recognizes distinguished children's picture books, and the award is given to the illustrator of the book. The medal is named after Randolph Caldecott, a nineteenth-century award winning illustrator. Books bearing the Caldecott medal have wonderful illustrations as well as story lines. Below is a website with a list of all the Caldecott medal books since 1938.

The Newbery Medal

The award is given to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The award has been given since 1922, and it was the first children's literary award in the world! 
Here are some criteria for receiving the Newbery Medal:
  • The book must be considered for its theme, presentation (clarity, accuracy and organization), plot, characters, setting, and style.
  • The book must relate to a child audience.
  • The book must contribute to literature.
  • The book must stand alone and not as a part of a multimedia presentation.

Check out these recent award winning books!

No comments:

Post a Comment